EORTC Anniversary - Identity


Celebrating the Past, Inspiring the Future



by A. M. Eggermont

A. M. Eggermont

Currently the Chief Scientific Officer at the Princess Máxima Centre for Pediatric Oncology, and Professor of Clinical & Translational Immunotherapy at the UMCU, Utrecht University, Utrecht, the Netherlands.

He is the past Director General the Gustave Roussy Cancer Campus Grand Paris, France (2010-2019) and is Emeritus Professor of Oncology at the University Paris-Saclay, France, Emeritus Professor of International Networking in Cancer Research as well as Emeritus Professor of Surgical Oncology at the Erasmus University Rotterdam.

Currently he holds two positions in Germany as Coordinator of the Comprehensive Cancer Center Programme of the Deutsche Krebshilfe, and as Strategic Advisor at the DKFZ-NCT Heidelberg for the Multisite National Center for Tumours in Germany.

Professor Eggermont is a melanoma specialist and immunotherapy development specialist. He was trained at the Surgery Branch of the NCI in the laboratory of Steve Rosenberg and obtained a PhD in Tumour Immunology. He developed and was the PI on multiple adjuvant immunotherapy trials in melanoma that led to FDA approvals in 2011 (Peg-IFN), 2015 (ipilimumab) and pembrolizumab (2019). He was responsible for the TNF-isolated limb perfusion EMA approval in 1998 for advanced sarcomas of the extremities. He is involved in multiple early clinical immunotherapy trials.

Scientific Output: > 1000 publications. H-index/citations: 128 ; >82000 citations (Google Scholar)

Amongst leading positions of professional societies figure: President EACS European Academy Cancer Sciences (2010-2019), President Cancer Core Europe (2014-1019), President ECCO (2009-2011), President EORTC (2006-2009), Surgical Oncology Seat in Board of ASCO (2008-2010), ESMO executive board (2014-2018). Moreover since 2011 Editor-in-Chief of European Journal of Cancer

Awards include: Joseph Maisin Chair in Oncology at Catholic University of Louvain in Belgium (2001); ASCO Statemans Award (2010); Michiel Van Vloten Award of the Dutch Surgical Society (2016); John Wayne Award of Clinical Research of Society Surgical Oncology (2018); Doctorate Honoris Causa (University Essen, Germany) (2018); Honorary Chair KAZIOR (Kazakh Institute of Oncology and Radiotherapy)(2019); Deutsche Krebshilfe Cancer Award (2020)

Societal Awards

  • Légion d’Honneur, France (2015)
  • Presidential Medal, Kazakhstan (2014)