EORTC Anniversary - Identity


Celebrating the Past, Inspiring the Future


Welcome to the 60th Anniversary of EORTC

The EORTC will celebrate its 60th Anniversary on September 30th, 2022 bringing together our members, partners, patient advocates and other key stakeholders in cancer research.

Beyond celebrating EORTC’s past through revisiting this organisation’s remarkable achievements, this important event will also look to the future, as EORTC adapts to a changing landscape. Key experts will give insights on how clinical cancer research has evolved, and what the future should look like for the EORTC. There will be discussions with policymakers on how clinical research can help shape European policies and how EU institutions can facilitate a comprehensive European agenda for clinical cancer research.

As more people are affected by cancer, there is a critical need for better understanding this multifaceted disease – through research and, importantly, through collaboration. Collaboration is part of EORTC’s DNA: we join forces with global partners across disciplines and across tumour types, to overcome global cancer challenges. This celebration is an opportunity to welcome clinical research groups from across the world to foster better alliances, reducing inefficiencies and striving for the best care for cancer patients, to ultimately improve their survival and quality of life.

We hope you will join us in Brussels to celebrate the 60th Anniversary of this truly unique organisation.

EORTC Achievements

A history of achievements in cancer research

EORTC Achievements

A history of achievements in cancer research

EORTC Presidents

Leaders who have made their mark

Georges Mathé
1962 – 1965
Silvio Garattini
1965 – 1968
D. Willem van Bekkum
1969 – 1975
Henri Tagnon
1975 – 1978
Lazlo George Latja
1979 – 1981
Carl Gottfried Schmidt
1981 – 1984
Umberto Veronesi
1985 – 1988
Louis Denis
1988 – 1991
Emmanuel Van der Schueren
1991 – 1994
Gordon McVie
1994 – 1997
Jean-Claude Horiot
1997 – 2000
Allan T. van Oosterom
2000 – 2003
Alexander M. Eggermont
2003 – 2006
Martine Piccart
2006 – 2009
Jean-Yves Blay
2009 – 2012
Roger Stupp
2012 – 2017
Bertrand Tombal
2017 – 2021
Winette van der Graaf
2022 – current